Confessions of a Political Animal

May 1, 2012

#sackBoris

Filed under: London Politics — Political Animal @ 7:06 pm

Below is a series of tweets I posted on 1st May 2012 about the London mayoral election. A few people seemed to agree with them, so I’ve put them up here for posterity. Being tweets, they aren’t exactly overly well argued or in-depth.

There now follows a party political broadcast on behalf of what I think. Sorry it’s a bit long…

People said we got 08 election wrong, saying Boris was a joke. They’re right. But no-one would have believed truth: an utterly boring mayor.

Boris lets the mayoralty wash over him like a warm bath. No imagination, no drive. Not once has he pushed boundaries of what a Mayor can do.

His jokes are same as they were 4 years ago, tired, scripted and repetitive. He still has to quote closing a free paper as an achievement.

London as a city is exciting and vibrant, but with immense challenges. It deserves better.

As a life-long Ken supporter, there’s occasionally head-in-hands moments. But what he’s done for London outweighs all his critics combined.

Full disclosure – I’ve worked for Ken. He lives, breathes and sleeps London. In 8 short years, he helped transform it.

I have never met a politician more passionate about their job. That’s why I’m proud to be backing him to carry on where he left off.

Finally, for the Hodges of this world, when I couldn’t back a Labour candidate, I quietly resigned from the party and did what I had to.

I would never have dreamt of taking cash to write a self-indulgent piece in a Tory paper seeking to undermine the work of Labour activists.

Here endeth the lesson. #sackBoris

 

1 Comment »

  1. I’m a bit confused about what you are trying to say here?

    The tweets are so obtuse without the greater context that they are very confusing. I would love to know what the point is that you are trying to get across???

    Comment by nsbr1 — May 8, 2012 @ 7:50 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.